Coalition Sends Letter to House Education and Labor Committee

The Honorable Bobby Scott
House Committee on Education and Labor
2176 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515 

The Honorable Virginia Foxx
Ranking Member
House Committee on Education and Labor
2101 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515 

Dear Chairman Scott and Ranking Member Foxx, 

As you consider legislation to address surprise medical bills in the House Committee on Education and Labor, we urge you to reject government price controls that would threaten access to patient care. The undersigned groups believe that the free market, and not government, is best suited to deliver quality healthcare to Americans. It is for this reason that the undersigned groups recently launched the Coalition Against Rate-Setting. 

Unfortunately, bills advanced by the House Energy & Commerce Committee and the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP) Committee include provisions to establish an artificial “benchmark” rate that would harm patients and the broader health care system. We urge you to reject all price controls, including a benchmarked (i.e. “median in-network”) rate, and other mechanisms that would result in more government control over healthcare. 

While the undersigned groups may have different opinions on the best way to address surprise medical bills, we all believe that the federal government has a lengthy history of interfering in healthcare and making the problems it seeks to solve even worse. 

We urge you to reject price controls in your committee and empower patients, not the federal government. 


Dan Clancy 
Senior Fellow 
Americans For Prosperity 

Rick Manning
Americans for Limited Government 

Norman Singleton 
Campaign For Liberty 

Ryan Ellis
Center For A Free Economy 

Andrew F. Quinlan 
Center for Freedom and Prosperity 

Jeffrey Mazzella
Center for Individual Freedom 

David McIntosh 
Club For Growth 

Thomas Schatz 
Citizens Against Government Waste 

Adam Brandon 

Tim Chapman 
Executive Director 
Heritage Action for America 

Mario H. Lopez 
Hispanic Leadership Fund 

Charles Sauer 
Market Institute 

Brandon Arnold 
Executive Vice President 
National Taxpayers Union 

Tim Andrews 
Executive Director 
Taxpayers Protection Alliance 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *